Casein: “Dairy Crack” in Vegan Products

Casein: “Dairy Crack” in Vegan Products

Casein (milk protein); this is an ingredient that is often found in many vegan products, especially vegan cheese. Some of us have seen it before, but most wouldn’t dare imagine that is actually dairy; given the fact that they are in products that are supposed to be dairy alternatives.

They are often advertised as lactose-free. The food industry knows that the word lactose is a clear indication for dairy in the minds of the general public. They know that with the combination of saying that their products are vegan and lactose-free, will automatically make people think they are dairy free.

This is why we always stress the importance of reading the ingredients of the products you are consuming. It is very impractical to solely go by what’s written on the front of the package.

Another factor you have to also pay attention to is the application of these two words, “milk protein.” They know that there are many different sources and forms of milk, so why not just openly say “cow’s milk..?” The answer appears quite obvious; it leaves room for people to think that the milk may be plant-based.

Casein is not only dairy, but it also accounts for one of the primary reasons people are so addicted to dairy. No matter how much dairy beats us up we just can’t seem to let it go. The primary reason is, which is of course not known to a lot of people is that dairy contains a morphine-like substance known as casomorphins.

This is what casein (milk protein) is, it operates like opioid drugs such as heroin and morphine. It works by attaching itself to opioid receptors in the brain, producing a feel-good sensation upon consumption.

Imagine, all this time, people are thinking that they “loved” dairy because of taste, when in fact, the attachment came from having an addiction.

Scroll To Top